About The North Euston Hotel
Fleetwoods crown jewel was the buliding of The North Euston Hotel.
Built in 1841, a fine semi-circular building overlooking Morcambe bay and the river Wyre estuary, The hotel was built to serve overnight guests making the rail journey from London Euston, and was close to the point of departure for the steamers to Scotland.
Travellers would have to alight at Fleetwood and take the sea ferry to Ardrossan and then travel by rail to Glasgow.
Hence the name 'North Euston'
This journey was made by Queen Victoria in 1847.
In 1859 the North Euston was bought by the War Department and became the School of Musketry for officers.
The school closed down in 1867 and it became officers' quarters for the garrison of troops located near the cemetery.
The hotel continued to thrive through various ownerships and has more recently been bought by a local family. The Spearmans are dedicated to bringing the hotels facilities up to date without disturbing the charm of this stunning building.